Statutory Holidays in Saskatchewan

As an employer regulated by the Saskatchewan Employment Act, you are responsible for providing your employees time off with pay for statutory holidays.

Saskatchewan has 10 statutory holidays

Statutory holidays (or “stat holidays”) are defined in the Saskatchewan Employment Act as “public holidays”. The province has 10 statutory holidays:

  1. New Year’s Day
  2. Family Day
  3. Good Friday
  4. Victoria Day
  5. Canada Day
  6. Saskatchewan Day
  7. Labour Day
  8. Thanksgiving Day
  9. Remembrance Day
  10. Christmas Day

Please note that Easter Monday, Christmas Eve, and Boxing Day are not stat holidays in Saskatchewan.

Provincially regulated workplaces in Saskatchewan do not observe the National Day for Truth and Reconciliation (September 30) as a stat holiday. Only federally regulated workplaces or those with a collective bargaining agreement to observe federal stat holidays mark this day as a stat holiday.

Statutory holiday entitlement 

When it comes to statutory holidays, your employees have the right to take public holidays and receive compensation with stat holiday pay. This eligibility begins immediately, as of their date of hire.

All employees are eligible for stat holiday pay for the 10 Saskatchewan stat holidays irrespective of their hours of work or how they are paid. Even new employees, who may worked for an employer for less than four weeks before the statutory holiday, are entitled to stat holiday pay for their earnings during that period.

But special stat holiday pay rules apply to employees working in:

  • Commercial hog operations
  • Operation of a well drilling rig
  • Hospitals, nursing homes, educational institutions, hotels, and restaurants (full-time staff)

Ask Employer Line about statutory holidays for your small business.

If you are unsure how to calculate stat holiday pay for your small business, ask the experts. Give our free employer advice line a call today at:   1-888-219-8767.